2015 Darwin Dili Yacht Rally

Planning is underway for the 2015 Darwin Dili Yacht Rally, with a provisional start date from Darwin of Saturday 11 July 2015 at 1100 hours. The Notice of Event and Sailing Instructions will be posted here when finalised. The course is from the Start Line in Darwin Harbour, Australia, leaving Jaco Island to port, to the Finish Line off the city of Dili, Timor-Leste, a distance of 425 NM.  
For 2015, 
Timor-Leste is in discussion with neighbouring provinces in Indonesia about giving the Rally a more regional focus and streamlining arrangements for yachts in the Dili Rally to sail onwards into Indonesia.  Hopefully the 2015 Darwin Dili Yacht Rally will become known as “Dili and beyond”!.  
Yachts interested in the 2015 Rally should email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. so they can be provided with information updates on the Rally as it is finalised.


Timor-Leste welcomes visits by yachts;  much of the information on this site is relevant to yachts visiting Dili at any time. Click here for entry and exit procedures for visiting yachts or if you would like further information, please email us on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Contact Us

The Sail Timor-Leste Darwin Dili Yacht Rally is a web based event, organised and managed using the internet and email only;  we do not use telephone, mail or fascimile. Please always include the name of your yacht in the subject line of all emails to us.  

2014 Rally

The Timor-Leste Ministry of Tourism provided a USD15,000 prize pool for the 2014 Rally.  
A fleet of 9 yachts and over 60 crew set sail for Dili, Timor-Leste, at 10.00am on Saturday 12 July in the 2014 Darwin Dili Yacht Rally.  The Start Line was to the west of the Darwin Sailing Club, and the best vantage point for watching the Start was from East Point.
Jon Wardill’s Australian Maid, which set a new Rally record in 2013 with an elapsed time of 52.12 hours was the first yacht over the line in a time of 61.32 hours.
The Competitve Monohull Division I was won on handicap by Bob Colman’s Raucous with Barrie Morgan’s Evolution NT second and Australian Maid third. The Cruising Monohull Division II was won on handicap by Insatiable II followed by Skye Melody. Sundancer NT came first on handicap in Division III Multihulls followed by Jalan Jalan I.
Launceston-registered Skye Melody, owned by Graeme Hay, carried over 120 boxes of donated medical and educational supplies to Dili for the humanitarian sailing vessel Vega, to be distributed to communities in need through Timor-Leste and Indonesia.

2013 Highlights

A fleet of 10 yachts and 60 crew  set sail for Dili, Timor-Leste on Saturday 13 July in the 2013 Darwin Dili Yacht Rally in 8-10 knots of breeze. Division I was headed up by Jon Wardill’s Australian Maid and other local monohull yachts including the 2012 winner, Gameset, owned by John Mulkearns.  Australian Maid crossed the finish line in Dili at 1407 hours Monday 15 July.. This is a Total Elapsed TIme of 52.12 hours and is a Line Honours Record for the event. 



Rally Trophies

Minister of Tourism

H.E. Francisci Kalbuadi Lay


Australian Maid